Berlin by-way of Tokyo, avant-pop singer Cuushe has announced that her mesmerising new album ‘Butterfly Case’ will be released on limited coloured 12-inch double vinyl thanks to Dilated Time Records.

Injected full of meditated whispers and lush ambient wanderings, ‘Butterfly Case’ will cushion your ears like soft feathery pillows as you drift off to a hazy world of blooming cherry blossoms and floating butterflies. Sit back, relax  and let your mind set sail as dusk creeps in over the lingering Summers night. In support of her new album, Cuushe unveils the new video for her song ‘I Love You’ which is created by flau label mates Twigs and Yarn. 

‘I Love You’ is taken from Cuushe’s new album, which is out now by revered Tokyo-based label Flau. 

12-inch purchase link HERE


Exquisite. Dazed and Confused

Someone whose way of expressing the sacred beauty of pop isn’t to yell and screech but to whisper and sigh. Guardian

multi-talented cuushe beautifully projects a subtle musical world that is carefully wrapped with sensitive emotion and fragile memories. This Fake DIY

culminates in a production that sounds not unlike some of our favourite tracks on Four Tet's breathtaking There Is Love in You. XLR8R

Incredible... refreshingly bold. The FADER 

Cover Photo by Takao Hashimoto

More about Cuushe:

Butterfly Case is Cuushe’s breathtaking second full-length album, coming four years after her debut Album Red Rocket Telepathy and following her recent EP Girl You Know That I Am Here But The Dream.  While Cuushe’s debut focussed on field recordings and found sounds, Butterfly Case sees her transport her dreams into reality, expressing herself with beautiful analogue tape distorted synths, hushed meditated vocals, drum machines and looped guitars. flau label honcho aus, co-produced the album, while it was mastered by up and coming producer Geskia. These new songs let us see cuushe’s hazy visions realised, her imagination transcends anything we’ve ever seen before. 
The Balearic guitar-house of lead track I Love You has already received praise from press both in her homeland of Japan and from the US and UK thanks to The Fader, Dazed and Confused, Yours Truly and many more. I Miss You tugs at your heart strings with its whispered mutterings of lost love, while the downtempo ambient R&B feel of Hanabi is reminiscent of Cocteau Twins & early 4AD meets soul music.

Cuushe’s unique, beautiful voice and ethereal, beat driven music truly offers a new dimension in dream pop.

Born in Kyoto but based in Tokyo via Berlin, Cuushe blends piano, distorted synths and guitars with her dream like vocals to create a sound that engages with us all.  After the release of her first album, ‘Red Rocket Telepathy’ in 2009, she supported with Grouper on her tour of Japan before releasing the EP called ‘Girl you know that I am here but the dream’ in early 2012.  Featuring three new songs and remixes from the likes of Julia Holter, Teen Daze, Motion Sickness Of Time Travel, Blackbird Blackbird, Botany, it sold out almost instantly.  US producer Slow Magic’s newest remix of the track ‘Do You Know the Way To Sleep’ has been viewed almost 500,000 time on YouTube, the video for Airy Me (taken from Red Rocket Telepathy) has had over 180,000 views across her Youtube and Vimeo channels in under two weeks.  The EP was selected as one of the best albums of 2012 by TimeOut Tokyo.  

01 Sort of Light 
02 I Dreamt About Silence 
03 Butterfly 
04 I Love You 
05 Twilight 
06 I Miss You 
07 Lost My Way 
08 Swing Your Heart 
09 Steamy Mirror 
10 Hanabi

co-produced by  aus 
mastered by Geskia! 
Artwork by Yoko Kuno

Web Links:

AuthorSteve Muscutt